Backflow Device Rules
Notice of Rule Change

The Manhasset-Lakeville Water District has contracted with VEPO CrossConnex to administer our cross connection control/backflow program. All backflow tests must now be submitted to VEPO through the VEPO CrossConnex App. Paper and fax copies of backflow tests will no longer be accepted by the District. PDF copies can be emailed to Vepo, at info@veposolutions.com for a $20 administrative fee that will be applied to your water bill.

Start Date: January 1, 2020

• All annual backflow assembly test reports must be submitted by your tester electronically via the VEPO CrossConnex Mobile Application which can be downloaded by your tester at the Apple App Store or Google Play for Android devices. The tester can also enter test data from any PC by visiting www.veposolutions.com/vepo-crossconnex and following the directions for creating a tester account.

• A VEPO CrossConnex (VCC) Number will be provided in your next test due notice. Your tester will need the VCC# in order to submit your test through Vepo CrossConnex.

• All testers must first register with VEPO CrossConnex in order to submit your test. • Your tester should be directed to these educational videos on how to set up and use the app at www.vepocrossconnex.com.

• Your tester must have a NYS certified backflow tester license.

• The new procedure will include a filing fee that the tester will pay at the time of the backflow report submittal via the VEPO CrossConnex mobile application. The filing fee for backflow assemblies is $15.00 per test report.

Our goal is to be completely paperless in the coming years. Once established, test due notices will be emailed to both the tester of record and the owner, so that all paper is eliminated. Please share this notice with your tester should they have any questions.

If your tester is unable to comply with these new procedures, a list of testers already registered with Vepo can be found below. Please contact Vepo at (877) 860-VEPO or at info@veposolutions.com with any questions.


What is a Cross Connection?
Purpose and Scope:
Public health officials have long been concerned about cross-connections and backflow connections in plumbing systems and in public drinking water supply distribution systems.  Such cross-connections, which make possible the contamination of potable water, are ever-present dangers. One example of what can happen is an epidemic that occurred in Chicago in 1933. Old, defective, and improperly designed plumbing and fixtures permitted the contamination of drinking water.  As a result, 1,409 persons contracted amebic dysentery; there were 98 deaths. This epidemic, and others resulting from contamination introduced into a water supply through improper plumbing, made clear the responsibility of public health officials and water purveyors for exercising control over public water, distribution systems and all plumbing systems connected to them. This responsibility includes advising and instructing plumbing installers in the recognition and elimination of cross-connections.

Cross-connections are the links through which it is possible for contaminating materials to enter a potable water supply. The contaminant enters the potable water system when the pressure of the polluted source exceeds the pressure of the potable source. The action may be called backsiponage or backflow. Essentially, it is reversal of the hydraulic gradient that can be produced by a variety of circumstances.

It might be assumed that steps for detecting and eliminated cross-connections would be elementary and obvious.  Actually, cross-connections may appear in many subtle forms and in unsuspected places.  Reversal of pressure in the water may be freakish and unpredictable. The probability of contamination of drinking water through a cross-connection occurring within a single plumbing system, may see remote; but, considering the multitude of similar systems, the probability is great. 

Cross connections amendment
The New York State Health Department requires that any property with an underground sprinkler system be equipped with a backflow device to protect public drinking water from possible contamination in the event of a sudden drop in water pressure. Our previous backflow regulations required the installation of a double check valve for backflow protection from residential sprinkler systems. The Nassau County Department of Health requires that a certified backflow tester test this device annually and forward the results to the MLWD.

In order to help our customers comply with this requirement, the MLWD has amended its Rules and Regulations to allow the installation of a pressure vacuum breaker as an acceptable backflow device on the branch line serving a sprinkler. The installation of a pressure vacuum breaker eliminates the annual testing requirement. Please note that all systems must be registered with the District regardless of which device is installed for backflow prevention. Your sprinkler company should be able to bring your system into compliance. For more information or to register your system, please contact Marshall Brandt at 466-4416. The District will be conducting a survey for unregistered underground sprinkler systems. Non-compliance with the ordinance subjects violators to penalty charges and/or an interruption of service.

The MLWD requires backflow prevention devices on all new services and on all existing services with underground sprinklers attached. The NCDOH requires annual testing of these devices. THE CUSTOMER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR TESTING THE DEVICE.

 



Certified VEPO Backflow Testers

In New York State, individuals who test backflow prevention devices for the purpose of protecting the public water supply are required to hold a valid certification issued pursuant to 10 NYCRR Section 5-1.31. Below is a current list of New York State certified backflow prevention device testers. For more information on contacting any of these individuals, please contact your County Health Department or State District Office, or email the Bureau of Water Supply Protection.

First name Last name Lic. # Email Phone
Jack Gayson 380 jgph@aol.com (516) 248-4105
Ronald L 4962 rlv11801@verizon.net (516) 250-9778
Denise 5791 sales@countyirrigation.com (516) 255-9595
Victoria 2919 headsupvicki026@yahoo.com (516) 293-9152
Roberto Lopez 9007 kysersnigg@gmail.com (516) 307-8320
Richard McCabe 5794 Rickmccab@gmail.com (516) 315-2445
Johnleto 275 johnletosprinklerguys@gmail.com (516) 321-9808
Costantino Cice 5192 info@ccsprinkler.com (516) 334-2042
John Maglione 11726 lilawnirrigation@gmail.com (516) 336-9402
Joseph Diele 12325 joe@fslcorp.net (516) 338-8757
Tom Driscoll 9901 Tom@Solidcityinspections.com (516) 350-9800
Mario 7004 marioorellanaluna70@gmail.com (516) 352-1020
Mark Polcer 6696 Sakowichplumbing@gmail.com (516) 354-6589
A.J. Skliba 11240 backflow_li@yahoo.com (516) 390-6235
Joseph Telese 4389 jmtplumber@gmail.com (516) 395-6656
tony dandrea 5912 tonybackflowman@gmail.com (516) 395-7399
Eileen curley 866 Eileenc777@aol.com (516) 466-0916
Robert DiTusa 651 psudz@hotmail.com (516) 482-1554
Carl J 11595 cjabraham1@aol.com (516) 482-5374
Weldon Cerna 8614 debra@automaticgroup.com (516) 486-7500
Lisa 6000 lisa@domslandscaping.com (516) 488-6653
James Schimmenti 12906 gardencity@groundsguys.com (516) 489-2000
Filippo LoPresti 8618 ferryplumbing@gmail.com (516) 498-9030
Arty Wolf 5797 artyssprinklers@gmail.com (516) 538-4371
David Medina 1976 dstofny@gmail.com (516) 586-3840
JDC 12802 jdcgrecosprinklers@aol.com (516) 590-7365
Steve Flynn 5789 vop1434@yahoo.com (516) 644-6832
Kevin Gaynor 11362 Dixiezeppo@gmail.com (516) 671-0372
Scott Macnow 6346 Pvalenze@gmail.com (516) 671-0904
Maccarone Plumbing 8300 lisam@maccaroneplumbing.com (516) 671-3232
edmond swiecki 4749 edmondswiecki@icloud.com (516) 672-1984
Gramman Plumbing 8626 gasheat@optonline.net (516) 746-0045
William F 10159 venturaplumbing@gmail.com (516) 767-7569
Michael Barba 5429 rpzbackflowtest@aol.com (516) 770-0757
Joseph Santacroce 4457 santacrocej@gmail.com (516) 779-4432
John Rotolo 2672 jrotolo11@gmail.com (516) 794-0848
John maglione 11726 Johnnymags73@gmail.com (516) 808-4893
Ralph Fraile 4765 rfraile@optonline.net (516) 860-4754
Ralph Fraile 7078 didi13@optonline.net (516) 860-4754
lynda bodden 745 krzyglu2@gmail.com (516) 867-2292
Michael Pallotta 488 michael@advanceirrigation.com (516) 868-0822
Michael S 9939 mikejr@advanceirrigation.com (516) 868-0822
John Popeleski 656 jpopeleski@optonline.net (516) 883-3025
Henry Barrera 12235 henry_v@aol.com (516) 883-8484
Julio Aguilar 5750 Juliosbeat@icloud.com (516) 903-5124
Maria 12535 maria@bottobros.com (516) 935-2900
Michael 12535 nicole@bottobros.com (516) 935-2900
Christopher Botto 12131 chris@bottobros.com (516) 935-2900
Anthony Verde 5492 Vjsprinklers@gmail.com (516) 937-3962
Jason Matt 124578 jmatt@tisales.com (518) 588-6543
kristopher Clemmer 167 kclemmer@live.com (520) 549-9194
Robert A 10466 Hitechirrigation@yahoo.com (631) 273-2020
Ryan Jones 69999 lundtesting@optonline.net (631) 345-3334
John Fragale 4890 Everythingplumbingandheating@yahoo.com (631) 346-3946
charles youngs 10336 cyoungs@optonline.net (631) 421-5200
Tom Tracey 4937 dimension2@optonline.net (631) 421-5200
Joanne Senk 5750 jsenk@rainrich.com (631) 423-2211
Richard Cassidy 53889 hydrodynamicsinc@aol.com (631) 472-4053
Daniel Garcia 10671 Daniel.backflow@gmail.com (631) 567-8382
Pedro Gutierrez 9936 Pedro.backflow@gmail.com (631) 567-8382
Robert Wolff 12895 Robert.backflow@gmail.com (631) 567-8382
Jacob Norton 12890 jacob.backflow@gmail.com (631) 567-8382
Michael Bonney 4762 mike.backflow@gmail.com (631) 567-8382
Joseph Lehr 9060 cestlajoe@gmail.com (631) 581-8368
Kevin C 1749 kkaszuba@bancker.com (631) 582-8880
Mark Bierman 1340 mark@sunirrigation.com (631) 643-0218
BD Rain 1566 service@bnd-rain.com (631) 753-2493
robert MacGregor 1566 linda.p@bnd-rain.com (631) 753-2493
Salvador Canas 3203 Estelita8188@gmail.com (631) 805-2629
Thomas Dropp 9672 Tmdrpp@aol.com (718) 213-1212
Aleks Vorfi 0 mpeon@pacificlawnsprinklers.com (718) 312-3838
Copper Services 6813 copperdep@gmail.com (718) 349-0252
Gregory Quattlander 9992 gregq@nyplumbing.com (718) 441-6800
Jaime Rivera 8983 Jr2k184@hotmail.com (718) 464-7135
xiang yu yuxiangjason@gmail.com (718) 690-5918
Ranjit Singh 7153 singhlandscaping@verizon.net (718) 740-3068
United Lawn 8085 unitedlawnsprinklers@yahoo.com (718) 746-5945
Mike Koutsofas 8259 backflowguyllc@gmail.com (845) 634-2133
Tom Moore 8616 tmoore@123backflowtesting.com (888) 315-3569
Mark Luzon 11416 mluzon@123backflowtesting.com (888) 315-3569
joseph bonanno 3955 jandjbackflow@gmail.com (914) 235-3127
Juan 1234 maganaj1903@gmail.com (914) 380-0561
Lawrence Evans 9070 la4president@gmail.com (914) 382-0950
Mathew j 10957 mattmangone1@gmail.com (914) 494-0795
John Ferrara 9620 Rotundopc@gmail.com (914) 579-0015
Matt Shaw 12429 mrhappyshaw@gmail.com (914) 579-0015
George w 4194 maciwitz10@aol.com (914) 736-5535
Richard Skjerli 8864 Skjerli@hotmail.com (914) 777-1791
Lawrence Evans 9070 lehvfp@yahoo.com (914) 788-6654
Michael Ciccone 12416 mikesbackflowtest@gmail.com (917) 396-6768
Richard Caruso 6204 richard.caruso.ny@gmail.com (917) 609-4693
Ramon Canas 11595 cvnas20@gmail.com (929) 354-8029

Click here for a list of All Nassau County Certified Testers